LSC-PA course can save couples $60 on marriage license
A new state law that goes into effect Sept.1 will raise the state fee for a marriage license to $60, in addition to up to $12 in local fees.
However, Golden Triangle couples who complete a free eight-hour communication workshop at Lamar State College-Port Arthur will not have to pay the $60 state fee and can forgo the normal 72-hour waiting period before they can take their marriage vows.
Lamar State will offer the communication workshop, “Together in Texas,” this fall on three Saturdays – Sept. 27, Oct. 25 and Nov. 22.
The workshop, conducted by Family Services of Southeast Texas, is designed for engaged or married couples of all ages to teach them how to communicate effectively, resolve conflicts and maintain intimacy.
A couple who completes the workshop will receive a certificate they can take to their county clerk when they apply for a marriage license. The certificate is good for one year and serves as proof that the couple is eligible for the $60 discount off their marriage license fee.
The workshop is set for 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. in Room 422 of the Lamar State-PA Student Center, 1600 Procter Street.
Admission to the workshop is free, but reservations are required.
For reservations, call Family Services of Southeast Texas at (409) 833-2668 ext, 115.