Seventeen students from Community Christian School were inducted as new members of the National Junior Honor Society in a ceremony held at school on January 28, 2008. Members were selected by the chapter’s Faculty Council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship, and character.
Students inducted were: Ashlyn Akhtar, Ivey Benoit, Brooke Boatman, Haley Brack, Jade Corbello, Brett Foster, Taylor Godwin, Leah Harrington, Lauren Jackson, Brittni James, Lauren Leger, Samantha Leifeste, Jacob Martin, Matthew McAfee, David Rainey, Sarah Scarborough, and Noella Schluter.
“We are very proud to recognize these outstanding members of our student body. National Junior Honor Society members are chosen for their exemplary contributions to the school and community and are expected to maintain these standards,” said Lisa Berwick, chapter advisor. This is the first year of the Community Christian School junior high chapter.
Students from the high school chapter of NHS have been active since 1995 and inducted 13 students: Donovan Armstrong, Ethan Berwick, Brandon Burns, Josie Jay, Mallori Parrish, Amber Akhtar, Kelsey Benoit, Corye James, Katherine McAfee, Chelsea Mires, Sarah Moseley, Angela Royer, and Kaitlyn Moseley. The chapter advisor for the high school is Ronnie Lee.
Each year the chapter sponsors several service projects for the school and community, some of which included: Blue Santa, preparing and delivering Thanksgiving baskets for the needy, bell ringers for the Salvation Army, and acting as victims for first aid training.
The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for students. Chapters exist in more than 6,000 schools and, since 1929, millions of students have been selected for membership. NJHS is sponsored nationally by the National Association of Secondary Schools. (NASSP).