As candidates bombard the public with signs and ads for the Democratic primary in March, other local candidates are beginning to file for office in the May 10 elections for city councils and school boards.

Filing began Monday and will continue through March 10. In addition to city council and school board races, voters in May will also choose representatives for the Orange County Navigation and Port District, and the Orange County Drainage District.
The Orangefield Independent School District, however, will hold its school board election in November, and not in May.

Early voting begins April 28 for the May 10 elections.

This year, the cities of Orange, West Orange and Pinehurst, along with the West Orange-Cove school district and the port district are joining together to have early voting at the Orange Public Library, 220 N. Fifth St. in historic downtown Orange.
For the port district, the seats up for election are currently held by longtime board president Lester “Buckshot” Winfree, Precinct 2, and incumbent Jimmy Smith, Precinct 3. Though the port commissioners represent an area, all registered voters in the county vote for them. Filing is conducted during regular business hours at the port offices, 1201 S. Childers Road off DuPont Drive.

The drainage district has two positions open this year, Precinct 4 currently held by Clyde Chesson, and Precinct 2, held by James Bean. Like the port district, all registered voters in the county vote for the seats. Filing is conducted at the drainage district office, 8081 Old Hwy. 90, off Interstate 10 in the McLewis area, during business hours, weekdays from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.

For the city of Orange, three of the five council positions will be in the election for two-year terms. Incumbents holding the spots are Mayor Brown Claybar, Council Place 1 Theresa Beauchamp, and Council Place 3 Cynthia Jackson. Candidates may file for the election at City Hall during regular business hours.

West Orange has three at-large council spots in the election this year. Incumbents are Shirley Bonnin, Mike Shugart and Dale Dardeau. Bonnin filed for re-election Monday. Filing is conducted at City Hall during regular business hours.

Pinehurst Mayor Billy Permenter will be facing election for the first time as mayor. Permenter was a long-time council member and was appointed as mayor last year after the resignation of Mayor Jerry Hussey. Also, two at-large council positions, now held by Bob Williams and John Zerko, will be in the election.

Filing is conducted during regular business hours at City Hall.

In Bridge City, the mayor’s seat and three council seats will be filled. Incumbents are Mayor Kirk Roccaforte, Place 2 Councilman Mike Reed, Place 4 Councilman David Rutledge, and Place 6 councilman Louis Davis. All four incumbents filed for re-election Monday.

The West Orange-Cove school district has two at-large seats for three-year terms open this year. The incumbents are Nancy Byers and Mary Fontenot Hardin. Filing is through the superintendent’s office during regular business hours at the administration building, 505 15th Street.

The Little Cypress-Mauriceville school district has three at-large positions in the election this year. Incumbents are Brenda Mott, Place 1; Ernest Egulf, Place 2; and Dr. Keith Kyle, Place 3. Mott filed for re-election on Monday.

For the Bridge City school board, incumbents Thomas Orozco of Place 6, and Mark Anderson of Place 7, filed for re-election Monday morning for new three-year terms. Filing is through Jean Magnuson at the administration building, 1031 W. Roundbunch Road.