Students from nine Southeast Texas public high schools and four
private high schools are set to compete in the 18th annual Regional Citizen
Bee on Thursday, March 6, in the Performing Arts Center at Lamar State
College-Port Arthur. 

 “Citizen Bee is a statewide civic education competition on America’s
heritage,” said LSC-PA government instructor Mavis Triebel, coordinator
of the regional competition. “This year’s contest covers the U.S.
Constitution, important documents, people, issues, civic values and current
events. All of the questions and answers are covered in the on-line
study guide provided by the Bill of Rights Institute.”

 Triebel said each school pays an entry fee and sends a team to the
contest, but each student competes individually.

 This year’s entries include public high school students from Port
Arthur Memorial, Beaumont Central, Hamshire-Fannett, Bridge City, Kountze,
Nederland, Orangefield, Sabine Pass and Vidor.

 The private schools are Legacy Christian Academy School and Monsignor
Kelly Catholic High School from Beaumont, Acorns to Oaks Academy from
Damon and Community Christian School from Orange.

 The contest includes a one-hour private written examination, followed
by oral questions in a public forum on the stage of the 400-seat Lamar

 The regional Citizen Bee is supported by a $5,000 grant from Total
Petrochemicals USA Inc., marking the company’s 16th year as a sponsor.
“The Citizen Bee experience involves teachers, families, and the
community in the acquisition of knowledge and skills essential for
effective citizenship, Triebel said. “It also is an opportunity to recognize
academic achievement of young people.”

 The top four contestants in this year’s regional contest will earn
cash awards, with the first-place winner receiving $500 and second place

 The third-place winner will receive $125, while the fourth-place
student will take home $75. All contestants will receive a Citizen Bee

 The top contestant in the regional contest advances to the state
competition in Austin in May. The top four state winners receive awards of
$1,000, $750, $500 or $250.

 For information, call Mavis Triebel at 984-6332.