Both Little Cypress Junior High and Mauriceville Middle School Student Councils received the Sweepstakes Award at the District 17 Texas Association of Student Councils Convention on Tuesday, February 27. This award is given to those schools who receive “Outstanding” ratings for Outstanding Student Council: Pride and Patriotism; Drug, Alcohol, Safety and Health;
Energy and Environment; and Community Service. Mauriceville Middle School also received recognition for Scrapbook.
Four out of six Student Council District 17 officer schools elected at the convention are from Orange County. They are: Little Cypress–Mauriceville High School – President; St. Mary’s – Secretary; LCJH – Historian; and MMS – Advisory to the Board. As president of the district, LCM High School will host the 2009 Convention, which should bring about 1,200 teenagers to Orange.
Sponsors for the groups are: Stacey Smith – LCM; Kim West – MMS; and Donna Darby – LCJH.