The deadline has been extended until March 21 for nominations in Lamar University ’s 2008 Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series, sponsored by ExxonMobil.
The Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Awards Committee set the new date to encourage a more competitive field of nominees for the award – one of the university’s highest faculty honors – said Steven Zani, associate professor of English and co-chair of the committee.
Lamar faculty, staff, students, alumni and retired faculty and staff are invited to nominate outstanding teacher/scholars for the award, which is now in its 22nd year, said Zani.
“This award, which includes a $1,500 stipend, is one of the highest honors accorded a Lamar faculty member,” he said.
Because of the nomination deadline extension, nominees will now have until April 14 to submit their lecture proposals, Zani said.
The recipient for 2008 will be announced May 7 at a meeting of the Faculty Senate. During the fall semester, on a date to be announced, the honoree will present a lecture to the Lamar community and university guests in the University Theatre.
Each nominee must be a full-time faculty member at Lamar University “who clearly expresses the university ideal of searching for knowledge through critical inquiry on his or her own discipline, and who supports and appreciates critical inquiry in the other disciplines of the university,” according to selection guidelines. Nominees must have completed one year of service and be currently teaching at least nine credit hours.    

Nominations must be submitted in writing and mailed to Steven Zani, co-chair, Distinguished Faculty Lecture Award Committee, P.O. Box 10023, Beaumont, Texas 77710. Additional information is available by phone at (409) 880-8563, by fax at (409) 880-8591 or by e-mail at

About No Author