Lamar University will present five Distinguished Staff Awards and honor 115 employees for their years of service to the university at a reception and program Tuesday, March 25, in the University Reception Center on the eighth floor of the Mary and John Gray Library.
The reception will start at 10 a.m. and the presentations at 10:30 a.m.
John Harvill, associate professor of mathematics, will be honored for 40 years of service. Receiving 35-year awards are Howard Perkins, director of student publications, and Li Chen Ma, chair of the Department of Sociology, Social Work and Criminal Justice.
Thirty-year honorees are Obert “Frank” Blaisdell, assistant chief of police and director of parking; Silverine Johnson, custodian, Facilities Management and Operations; and Dorothea Titus. supervisor of data and position control, Controller’s Office. The group also includes 11 staff members who will receive 25-year awards and eight who will receive 20-year awards. Other employees will be honored at 15-, 10- and five-year levels of service.
Lamar will present the awards to full-time employees who completed service in increments of five years between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2007. Staff members retiring in 2007 will also be recognized.
Distinguished Staff Awards go to staff members selected from among those nominated by their co-workers. Criteria include job performance with notable achievement for productivity; demonstration of outstanding relationship of service to students and other staff members; special achievements in university service beyond the normal areas of duty; service on committees and special projects; and meritorious service, demonstrated initiative and consideration of others.
The Lamar University Staff Senate, sponsor of the awards program, invites members of the news media to share in this annual event.  Refreshments will be served.