Sixteen students will matriculate at Lamar University for the fall 2008 semester having earned the right to be called Mirabeau Scholars.  The coveted Mirabeau Scholarships are awarded to a limited number of outstanding first-time-in-college students who have met the rigorous standards required for this scholarship valued at $60,000.  The scholarship covers tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies over a four-year period.
“The Mirabeau Scholarship is one of the most prestigious and competitive scholarships we offer,” said Stephen Doblin, provosts and vice president for academic affairs.  “Mirabeau Scholars are held to a higher level of academic performance because these students are among our best and brightest.”
Those receiving the 2008 Mirabeau Scholarships are: Brett Bertles, Bridge City; Lucas Castle, West Brook; Madison Davis, Bridge City; Cory Fenn, Royal H.S.– Pattison, TX; Sarah Fontenot, Bridge City; Brittany Graham, Texas Academy of Leadership in the Humanities (TALH); Christopher Johnston, Hardin-Jefferson; David Johnston, Hardin-Jefferson; Seema Kansara, TALH; Brett Leyendecker, Port Neches-Groves; Colleen Menegaz, TALH; Nathan Minshew, Port Neches-Groves; Daniel Mortensen, Crossroads Christian Academy – Panama; Nicholas Robertson, Bridge City; McGarrity Stanley, Port Neches-Groves; William Ware, Huntington.
To be eligible for the Mirabeau Scholarship, students must score 1250 or above on the SAT or a composite of 28 or greater on the ACT.  Prospective scholars must undergo a review of their academic transcripts, submit to a personal interview and must be nominated by one of the university’s college deans.  To maintain the scholarship throughout their academic career, scholars must maintain a 3.5 grade point average and participate in the University Honors Program to include one or more of the following; student leadership, student government, Lamar Ambassadors, peer advisors or participate in undergraduate research.  The 2008 Mirabeau Scholarship recipients scored an average 1368 on the SAT exams.