The Little Cypress-Mauriceville portion of the 104th Miriam Lutcher Stark Reading Contest was held on March 27th in the high school auditorium.  The declamation winner was Andrew Reimers reading a speech given by Bob Keeshan to the NEA convention in 2000. The declamation second place went to Demetrielle Washington delivering a speech given by Sojourner Truth. The interpretive portion was won by Taylor Pousson reading “The Smell of Oranges” by J.J. Jonas.  Steven Perry won second with, “Love is a Fallacy,” by Max Shulman. These students will receive $2000 for first place and $1500 for second place in college scholarships.  Congratulations to all our readers.

About No Author