The Lamar State College-Port Arthur chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inducted 64 students during a recent ceremony and reception in the Carl Parker Center.

Phi Theta Kappa, which has more than 1,500 chapters around the world, was established in 1918 by a group of Missouri two-year college presidents to recognize and encourage scholarship and to encourage an intellectual climate for continued academic excellence at colleges that offer two-year associate degree programs.

Membership is open to full-time and part-time students. To qualify, a student must attend a regionally-accredited school offering associate degree programs, complete at least 12 hours of college-level courses leading to an associate degree and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5.

Twenty-eight students qualified for membership during the 2007 fall semester, while 36 qualified this spring.

The Alpha Lambda Rho chapter is one of the more active student organizations on the LSC-PA campus. Members take part in a variety of club activities, campus events, fund-raisers and community service projects.
The 2007-08 inductees, listed by city of residence, are:

Orange: James Drake.

Orangefield: Janice Marshall.

Vidor: Dana Rogers.