Robert L. “Bob” Cook, recently retired executive director of

the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, has been named Texas

Outdoorsman of the Year by past award recipients. The Texas Outdoorsmen

have been presenting this distinguished award for forty nine years. All

proceeds from their annual celebration benefit the Texas Wildlife

Association Foundation (TWAF).

“Bob Cook personifies the ideal

of a Texas outdoorsman,” TWAF President Charles Davidson said. “He is

equally at home in the Capitol or around a campfire. As a long-time

leader at Texas Parks and Wildlife, he helped shepherd Texas through

the transition from a rural to urban state, never letting anyone forget

that wild places and wild things are integral to Texas’ long-term

success. He is an ethical sportsman, a knowledgeable advocate and a

true friend of Texas’ hunters, anglers and land stewards. Bob is a

accomplished outdoorsman and an example of what the award was

established to represent.”

Cook began his career with the Texas

Parks and Wildlife Department in 1965. Early on, he served as a

wildlife biologist, manager of the Kerr Wildlife Management Area and as

the program leader for the Statewide White-tailed Deer Program. After

an 11-year stint in a private wildlife and ranching enterprise, Cook

returned to the department in 1990, serving as Wildlife Division

Director, Chief Operating Officer and the agency’s Executive Director.

He retired in 2008 and now manages his family’s property in Brown


Cook will be honored with a reception and dinner on

September 10, 2008, which will be held at the Texas Disposal Systems

Exotic Game Ranch and Pavilion near Creedmoor, Texas. Creedmoor is

located approximately 17 miles south of Austin.

The event is

open to the public and his many friends and colleagues. Tickets are

$35.00 person and will be available by calling 210-826-2904. The

evening event will be a celebration of all contributions to the Texas

outdoors that Bob Cook has made over the years. The list is long! “We

invite all of his friends, past employees and fellow outdoorsmen and

women to join us for the festivities,” said former award recipient and

event chairman Stan Studer Jr.

The prestigious award has been

presented 48 times since its inception in 1959. The Outdoorsmen have

presented the award only to San Antonio residents until last year.

Until 2005 it was hosted by the San Antonio Angler’s Club and was a San

Antonio based award. In 2007, the award’s scope was broadened to

include the residents of the entire State of Texas. Lee Bass was the

Texas Outdoorsman of the Year. Other past recipients include: Joseph

B.C. Fitzsimons, Louis Stumberg, Tim Hixon, Mark Watson, Bill Negley,

Charly McTee, and many others. Sponsorship opportunities are available.