Nearly 200 southeast Texas women educators are expected to attend the Area II Workshop of Alpha State, Texas of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Saturday, Aug. 23 at C.O. Wilson Middle School, Nederland.  “Designs for Success” is the workshop theme.

Alpha State, Texas encompasses 18 areas with 297 chapters.  Ann Copelin, a member of Theta Chapter, Orange, since 1975 and a past chapter president, is the Area II coordinator.  Copelin oversees the 19 chapters located in Orange, Jefferson, Hardin, Chambers, Newton, Jasper, Tyler, Liberty, Polk, Houston, San Jacinto, Trinity and Walker counties.

Jo Ann Brooks, Alpha State president, will address the opening session and present two morning workshops for incoming presidents.  Brooks was initiated as a charter member of Iota Omega Chapter in Plano in 1975.  Since then she has served on numerous committees and held various offices at both chapter and state levels.  Brooks retired from the Plano ISD in 2004 after 37 years.

“My passion since fifth grade has always been to contribute to the education of young children,” Brooks said.  “I fulfilled that passion by being an elementary teacher, counselor and director of Plano’s after-school care program for elementary children.”Catherine Davis, 2005-2007 Alpha State president, will introduce Brooks.  Davis, a member of Iota Psi Chapter, is one of only three past state presidents to have come from Area II.

Besides the presidents’ training session, others in the 10:30-11:15 a.m. time period include sessions for chapter treasurers and secretaries as well as seven workshops for those who will serve on the ceremonies, scholarship, achievement awards, membership/necrology, program of work, music and professional affairs/legislation committees.

Joy Holland, a two-time past president of Theta Chapter, Orange and currently a member of the State Program of Work Committee, will present the session for incoming Program of Work Committee attendees.  Other local chapter members serving as session one facilitators include Copelin, presidents’ training; Jane Rawson, Theta Psi, treasurers; Evelyn Sechler, Theta Omega, achievement awards; and Glenda Dixon, Theta Omega, program of work.

Betty Jo Spence, also a past president of Theta Chapter, is a member of the State Communications Committee.  She will present the session on communications and chapter yearbooks during the second morning session.  Copelin will again be the facilitator for the second presidents’ training workshop.

Others scheduled from 11:25 a.m.-12:10 p.m. are for treasurers as well as for members of the committees on world fellowships, personal growth and services, protocol, research/archives, technology and leadership seminar opportunities.

Local chapter facilitators for session two include Olga Graham, Theta Psi, treasurers; Shirley Marshall, Theta, communications; and Theresa Wilson, Theta Omega, technology.    During the afternoon general session honor members will be recognized, including Janice Gresham, Theta, 50-year member; and Manon Mohon, Theta, and Rawson, each 25 years.

To conclude the workshop, a necrology service will recognize the 18 Area II members who have died in the past two years.  Six are from Orange, including Jeannie Romano McGee, Mary Rao and Joyce Curlee, Theta Psi; and Mary Jo Seastrunk, Eunice Benckenstein and Myrtle Richardson, Theta Omega.

Mohon is the workshop registrar and treasurer.  Other local chapter acknowledgments include Theta Omega, table decorations; Theta Psi, door prizes; Theta, programs; and Spence, publicity.