After an unconventional fall semester, Lamar State College-Orange proudly announces its fall 2008 graduates.  Gisela Houseman, owner of Houseman Companies and Tony Houseman Homes, will serve as the guest speaker at LSC-O’s fall commencement 7:00 p.m., Friday, Jan. 23, at in the Lutcher Theater.

Born in Hamburg, Germany, Houseman became a U.S. citizen in 1956.  She later married Orange County developer Tony Houseman and together they have four children.  Before moving to southeast Texas in 1987, she was an insurance professional for 25 years with a background in accounting and finance, including CLU and ChFC designations from the American College.

Houseman is a graduate of Leadership Texas, Leadership America and traveled to China to help establish an international leadership program. She was one of the founding members of Leadership Southeast Texas over 15 years ago.  This program currently has over 700 alumni and involves nine counties in our region. 

She has received numerous awards, including the Athena Award of Orange County, JCPenney Golden Rule Award, and Lone Star Proud for Kids Award for her work with CASA for abused children.  She was inducted into the Women’s Commission of Southeast Texas Hall of Fame in 1991 for business and finance.  Houseman is active on numerous charity boards and foundations, including the Salvation Army and CASA.  She serves on the board of Foundation of Southeast Texas, a community foundation, Better Business Bureau, LIT Foundation, and Lamar State College Foundation. 

Dr. J. Michael Shahan, LSC-O president, will introduce the special guest and confer the degrees.  Other LSC-O dignitaries on the program are Dr. Sheila Gunter, vice president for academic affairs, certification of candidates; Carla Dando, dean of instruction, presentation of graduating class; and Donald Thomas, instructor, recognition of honor graduates. 

LSC-O’s Orange County graduating class includes the following students:

Bridge City, TX: Associate of Applied Science (AAS), Brianca N. Boutte, medical office professional; Associate of Science (AS), Jessica Heather Bradley, business; Certificate, Boutte, medical administrative assistant; Boutte and Joni Marie Boudreaux Taylor, medical office assistant; Shane Michael Preston, networking ITHC; Jennifer Renee Longmire, Dwight Lee Moseley, and Cydney Kaye Peery, vocational nursing; Institutional Award (IA), Boutte, Kacy Leigh Campbell, Robin LaVonne Lakey, and Hannah Kay Williams, medical office receptionist; Preston, web design/multimedia.

Mauriceville, TX: Associate of Arts (AA), Cara Alise Abshire, teaching 1; Certificate, Lacy Lynette Johnson Branson and Darla Jo Parmenter Wallace, vocational nursing.

Orange, TX: AAS, Madison Courtney Baker, Casey Mikel Breaux, Larry Darnell Brooks Jr., Tiffany Michele Smith Christ, Joseph Travis Donnaud, and Brandi Michelle Taylor, industrial technology; AA, Abby Alyse Edwards, teaching 1; Daniel Christopher Adams, teaching 2; AS, Steven Alex Bickman, Virginia Mae Callaway, and Andrea Michelle Lewis, business; A. Joy Karunanithi, criminal justice; Christopher L. V. Anderson, Sandra Vanessa Gomez, Farrell Lynn Greer, Hodges Lancaster Jr., Crystal Maschelle McHan Ledford, Thai Thanh Phan, Sally Ann Hennigan Pope, Sunni Richel Shute, and Candice Irene Conroy Steele, liberal arts; Minh-Nhat Phuoc Duong and Brian Joseph Felchak, natural science; Elaine D. Delaphoos Shadell, sociology; Certificate, Kerisha Mae Anderson, medical administrative assistant; Jodie Emilia Ross Jackson, Sukari Shawntel Minor, Stephanie Dell Weatherly Morris, and Misty Gayle Odom Scherman, medical office assistant; Travis Andrew Benoit, Wendi Dawn Ferguson Low, and Sarah Lynn Manuel, pharmacy technology; Baker, Donnaud, and Theodore Eugene Renfro, process technology; Baker, Brooks Jr., and Christ, safety, health and environmental; Vicki Elizabeth Bombek, Robin Gail Childress, Jessica Lynn Sadler Collins, Shalonda K. Daniel, Dannell Durocher, Brett Allan Fuller, Richard Paul George III, Rose Evett Grayer, Theresa Reneé Bellard Hardin, Melissa Durden Hargrove, Erica Latrice Johnson, Trekendria Shavon Alex Jones, Kimberly Lynn Kagle, Mary Caroline Mendizabal, Brittany Ann Periou, and Stephanie Anne Vickery, vocational nursing; IA, Megan DeAnn Causey, Hazel Jantail Hope, Jackson, Bonnie Joleen, Minor, and Karen Michelle White, medical office receptionist.

Orangefield, TX: AAS, Barbara Ann LeBlanc Sarver, office professional; Certificate, Jamie Lea Jones, vocational nursing; IA, Courtney Jo Bellard, medical office receptionist.

Vidor, TX: AAS, Donna Michelle Carter, industrial technology; James A. Chambliss, liberal arts; AA, Nicolette Gayle Blood, teaching 2; AS, Larissa Nicole Picard-Song, business; Lyndsi Faye Allen, natural science; Certificate, Carter, process technology; Carter, safety, health and environmental; Linda Elaine Thompson Cooper, Sasha Lynn Domec, Brianna Leigh Howlett, Shannon Allen Jacobs, Mandi Noelle LeMare, Lauren Kay Sarver, Cherisse Sue Cole Stevenson, and Natalie Paige Smith Womack, vocational nursing.