Governor Rick Perry proclaimed January as School Board Recognition Month to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our communities. The West Orange – Cove CISD is joining with other districts throughout the state to thank board members for caring so much about the future of every child enrolled in our public schools. 

“The Board is comprised of a group of dedicated individuals who contribute a great deal of their personal time, with no compensation, to addressing the enormous challenges associated with public education. They are student and teacher centered, as well as focused on instruction,” Dr. Taylor Collins, WOCCISD Superintendent, said.

The WO-C Board of Trustees provides dedicated leadership and continuing service to the children of this community.

“I really enjoy working with them and for them,” Dr. Collins said.

The current board of trustees are:  

Pete Amy, President, Board Member since 2003

Eric Mitchell, Vice-President, Board Member since 2003

Ricky Jacobs, Secretary, Board Members since 2007

Nancy Byers, Board Member since 1999

Harry Barclay, Board Member since 2004, and also from

Dr. Mary Fontenot Hardin, Board Member since 2005

Vincent Bottley, Board Member since 2007