The West Orange – Stark High School Journalism Team captured first place team honors and first place individual honors in three out of four journalism events, as well as swept the news writing contest at the UIL 3A Academic District Meet held last Saturday.

Members of the journalism team are Tinesha Mix, Karli Flurry, Kylie Hughes, Jordan Darnall, Alayna Jacobs, Shonnalee Jacobs and Alex Jenkins.

Shonnalee Jacobs, Alex Jenkins, and Kylie Hughes swept the news writing event, earning first, second, and third place, respectively.

In editorial writing, Tinesha Mix placed first, while Karli Flurry placed fourth.

Kylie Hughes placed first in feature writing, while Jordan Darnall placed fourth.

Alayna Jacobs placed second in headline writing.

In prose competition, Rebekah Ragsdale and  Korri Norwood placed first and fifth, respectively.

The calculator applications team of Kendal Veitch, Payven Simien, Otis Frazier, Mikekory Simon placed third.

Ortavious Hypolite placed fourth in current events competition; while the current events team comprised of Hypolite, John Jefferson, Kayleigh Thompson, and Cynthia Minchew placed third.

In literary criticism, Elexis Rockwell placed fifth. The literary criticism team of Rockwell, Tinesha Mix, Cynthia Minchew, and Trea Henderson placed third.

Students who placed first through third will advance to the UIL 3A Academic Regional Meet April 25 in Brenham. Fourth place individuals advance as alternates.

The WO-S High School One-Act Play cast and crew also participated in the District level One Act Play competition at Lamar State College- Port Arthur.  

They presented the Noel Coward production titled Blithe Spirit.  

West Orange-Stark was the alternate advancing show and received three of the eight “All-Star Cast” awards for the district competition.  

Randy Wuske, Korri Norwood and Tinesha Mix earned All-Star honors.

The cast and crew of the WO-S play are:  Chelsea Dixon, Jamesha Finney, Morgan Fox, Andria Gobert, Christyn Harris, Kayla McCullough, Tinesha Mix, Korri Norwood, Nichole Wagner, Kevinique Walker, Sam Webb, Kris Welcome, and Randy Wuske.

WO-S High School Academic Sponsors are: Journalism-Meri Elen Jacobs, Drama-Brandy Bonnin, Current Events-Leesa McMullen, Literary Criticism-Marvin Hill and Derek Smith, and Calculator Applications-Nikki McDonald.

Pictured above

Front row:  Alayna Jacobs, Shonnalee Jacobs, Ortavious Hypolite, Randy


Middle row:  Tinesha Mix, Alex Jenkins, Korri Norwood, Rebekah

Ragsdale, Karli Flurry. 

Back row:  Elexis Rockwell, Kylie Hughes,

Jordan Darnall. 

Not pictured: Kendal Veitch, Payven Simien, Otis

Frazier, Mikekory Simon, John Jefferson, Kayleigh Thompson, Cynthia

Minchew, Trea Henderson.