Eight Bridge City High School students were honored at the BCHS Awards day on May 21 as Texas Music Scholars. They were nominated by their directors Tina Bernard (choir) and Traci Anderson (band).  The award is sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras, and Choirs.  Last year, fewer that 1500 students were honored.

BCHS is represented by Kristin Ivey (9th grade, soprano), Savannah Smith (9th grade, alto), Olivia Wright (12th grade, alto), Megan Mumbach (12th grade, soprano), Allison Stewart (12th grade, soprano), Collin Findlay (12th grade, French Horn), Amy Sattler (11th grade, flute), and Luke Hebert (9th grade, trumpet).

The students must exhibit outstanding qualities in scholastic merit, musicianship, and citizenship in the school and community during the 2008-09 school year.  TMEA is an Austin based association of over 10,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools, and offer quality musical experiences for students. 

A few other awards that day were Grant Encalade and Sharon Wilson named as Mr. and Miss BCHS and Debbie Gregg was named Educator of the Year.