Games This Week

MCNEESE STATE (9-2) over NEW HAMPSHIRE (9-2)—The Cowboys had to hold on to beat Central Arkansas 21-17 in the regular season finale at Cowboy Stadium Saturday night in Lake Charles to finish the season tied with Stephen F. Austin as the Southland Conference co-champions. It also was a stroke of luck to be named as an at-large team in the NCAA FCS playoffs. But it happened with the Pokes as the home team. Don’t know much about New Hampshire, but it’s a long way from Lake Charles where there will be 17,000 Cajuns rooting against them at 2 p.m. Saturday on Louis Bonnette Field.

HIGH SCHOOL PLAYOFFS—Class 5A (Division I)—Beaumont West Brook (9-3) over Katy Cinco Ranch (11-1) 1 p.m. Saturday at Rice University; Class 4A (Division I)—Friendswood (9-3) over Beaumont Central (9-3) 1 p.m. Saturday at Stallworth Stadium; Class 2A (Division I)—Kirbyville (10-2) over Arp (12-0) 6 p.m. Friday at Bowers Stadium on Sam Houston State University campus in Huntsville; (Division II)—Daingerfield (11-1) over East Chambers (9-2) 8 a.m. Saturday at Abe Martin Stadium in Lufkin; Newton (11-1) over Linden-Kildare (8-4) 1 p.m. Friday at Carthage.

NCAA FCS PLAYOFFS—Stephen F. Austin (9-2) over Eastern Washington (8-3), Montana (11-0) over South Dakota State (8-3), Appalachian State (9-2) over South Carolina State (10-1), Richmond (10-1) over Elon (9-2), Villanova (10-1) over Holy Cross (9-2), William & Mary (9-2) over Weber State (7-4), Southern Illinois (10-1) over Eastern Illinois (8-3).

COLLEGE—Texas over Texas A&M (Thurs.), Pittsburgh over West Virginia, Rutgers over Louisville, Akron over Eastern Michigan, Kent State over Buffalo, Wyoming over Colorado State, Temple over Ohio, Alabama over Auburn, Tulsa over Memphis, Cincinnati over Illinois, Nebraska over Colorado, Bowling Green over Toledo, Central Michigan over Northern Illinois, Boise State over Nevada (all Fri.), Virginia Tech over Virginia, Connecticut over Syracuse, Duke over Wake Forest, Clemson over South Carolina, North Carolina over North Carolina State, Missouri over Kansas, Kentucky over Tennessee, Ole Miss over Mississippi State, TCU over New Mexico, East Carolina over Southern Mississippi, Central Florida over UAB, Marshall over UTEP, SMU over Tulane, Texas Tech over Baylor, Oklahoma State over Oklahoma, Florida over Florida State, Georgia Tech over Georgia, Utah over BYU, Houston over Rice, Idaho over Utah State, Washington over Washington State, Arizona over Arizona State, Boston College over Maryland, Miami over South Florida, LSU over Arkansas, New Mexico State over San Jose State, Stanford over Notre Dame, UNLV over San Diego State, USC over UCLA, Navy over Hawaii, Florida Atlantic over Western Kentucky, Middle Tennessee State over Louisiana-Monroe, Arkansas State over North Texas, Troy over Louisiana-Lafayette.

PRO PICKS—Green Bay over Detroit, Dallas over Oakland, NY Giants over Denver (all Thurs.), Indianapolis over Houston, Cincinnati over Cleveland, Minnesota over Chicago, Philadelphia over Washington, Miami over Buffalo, Arizona over Tennessee, St. Louis over Seattle, Atlanta over Tampa Bay, NY Jets over Carolina, Jacksonville over San Francisco, Baltimore over Pittsburgh, New England over New Orleans (Monday Night).