“Saddle up with the FFA,” was theme of the Little Cypress–Mauriceville’s annual Future Farmers of America Banquet that was held on Tuesday, May 4 at the Little Cypress Intermediate School’s cafeteria. 

Décor for the evening boasted ropes, saddles, and rodeo gear. 

The program included dinner (provided by the FFA parents), a slideshow of the year’s activities, a guest speaker, awards, and the announcement of the 2010-2011 FFA officers. 

This year’s guest speaker was Judge A. Lee Harris, a 1985 graduate of LCM.  While a student, he was an active member of the FFA, serving as a chapter, district, area, and state FFA officer. He was also the first LCM FFA member to win a national contest, when he won the National Prepared Public Speaking Contest in 1985. 

Harris is currently a judge in Hill County where he lives with his wife, Holly, and two daughters. 

In addition to the guest speaker, the chapter also had some milestone moments this year. 

During the awards section of the banquet, the LCM FFA honored Katherine Leggett, the first Lonestar FFA Degree recipient from the school in 15 years.

They also awarded members Katye Harris and Keegan Labry with a $1000 scholarship that was bestowed upon them by the National FFA Association and sponsored by David Self Ford. 

Three outstanding senior FFA members were also recognized; Don Gray received the DEKALB award, sponsored by the Monsanto Company. Katye Harris and Amber Helm were given chapter leadership awards for their outstanding service during this year. 

To close the program they announced the officers for the 2010-2011 school year: President Katherine Leggett, Vice President Nathan Howlett, Student Advisor Jamie Hooker, Secretary Brandon Kresser, Treasurer Tyler Sanders, Reporter Wyatt Brown, Sentinel Shelby Pinner, and Parliamentarian Sheldon Lafleur. 

This summer the new officers will travel to Corpus Christi and represent the LCM FFA at the 82nd annual Texas FFA Convention.