Orangefield High School will hold commencement ceremonies at 7:30 p.m., Friday, May 28 at F.L. McClain Stadium.

Elana Newell, daughter of Keith and Teri Newell; and Alexandra Dunn, daughter of John and Becky Dunn; are the valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, of the Orange High School class of 2010.

Newell has narrowed her future plans to either a Mirabeau Scholarship offered by Lamar University or the Trustee Scholarship from Harding University.
Dunn plans to attend Texas A&M as a business major.

Both have served in various community groups and active in Hurricane Ike clean-up efforts.

Newell has been active in volleyball, basketball, varsity track, varsity cross country; and her senior was president of the Debate Club, Bobcats Against Drinking and Drugs and the National Honor Society. Also her senior year, she was parliamentary of the Student Government; and won awards in Varsity Cross-Examination Debate and Informative Speaking. Her merit awards include honor geometry, honors world geography, speech, debate, Spanish, honors algebra. She received the Rotary Club Award three consecutive years.

Her community service includes canned food drives, the Relay for Life, Pennies for Patients and the “Share Your Christmas” canned food drive.

In Dunn’s senior year, she served as captain on the Sophisticats Dance/Drill Team, and was formerly a lieutenant and first lieutenant. She has been active in basketball, one-act plays and the National Honor Society, serving as secretary her senior year. She was on the student council her senior year and with the St. Helen Youth Group all four years at Orangefield.

Her awards include Sophisticat of the Week, Rotary Club Award of Excellence, Highest Ranking Junior, Anita Jefferson Conley Award of Excellence and Outstanding U.S. History Student. She was also active with St. Helen Vacation Bible School in 2009.

Mr./Mrs. OHS

Jacob Felts and Alexandra Dunn were named Mr. and Miss Orangefield High School during the annual OHS awards ceremony on May 20.

Young journalists win scholarships  

Orangefield High School seniors Sydnie LaFleur, Jessica Eatman and Shane Marburger received Excellence in Journalism Scholarships sponsored by KFDM-TV and Market Basket.

The students posted news stories on the Southeast Texas Student News section of throughout the school year.

They were recognized at a ceremony on May 24.