The Press Club of Southeast Texas has announced the finalists for Newsmaker of the Year, who will be honored at the club’s annual scholarship fund-raiser June 3. Newsmaker finalists are selected by vote of the general membership of the club comprised of members of the news media and public relations professionals.

The Press Club will salute, in alphabetical order, Michael Getz, Dan Hooks, Delores “Bobbie” Prince, Larry Tidwell, and Ray Woodard.

Getz, a Beaumont attorney, will be honored for his work on a petition to change the way Beaumont school district trustees are elected and on behalf of South Park graduates.

Hooks, former coach of the West Orange-Stark High School football team, will be honored for helping his squad persevere and the community heal after the tragic death of quarterback Reggie Garrett.

Prince, mayor of Port Arthur, is honored for her leadership in economic, social and crime-fighting initiatives.

Tidwell is honored for his dual rule as athletic director and successful coach of the Lamar University’s women’s basketball team.

Woodard, Lamar football coach, will be honored for leading the team in a strong first season after the program was resurrected after being dormant for 21 years.

In addition, Press Club members will honor a Newsmaker of the Decade. This person was chosen from among the 10 individual winners of Newsmaker of the Year from 2001 to 2010.

The banquet will be in the University Reception Center on the eighth floor of the Mary and John Gray Library at Lamar University. Activities begin with a reception at 6:30 p.m., preceding the dinner and awards banquet at 7 p.m.

Now in its 20th year, the banquet is the major fund-raiser for the Press Club Memorial Scholarship, awarded annually to a communication student at Lamar.

Press Club members select the five finalists and the top recipient of the Newsmaker of the Year award, honoring the Southeast Texan who had the most significant positive impact on issues and events during the year 2010.

The program also will feature presentation of the club’s 2010 Excellence in the Media Awards, selected from more than 600 entries submitted by area professionals in the fields of newspapers, television, radio, magazines and public relations.

Banquet reservations are $35 per person. Additional information is available from club president Brian Sattler at (409) 880-8396.

Underwriting opportunities are available at levels ranging from $250 to $5,000.

Sponsorship information is available from Paul Bergen, vice president for finance, at (409) 838-1212.