CORPUS CHRISTI – For her years of support for Texas agriculture and the Farm Bureau cause, Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison received

the organization’s highest honor at Texas Farm Bureau’s (TFB) 78th Annual Meeting today in Corpus Christi. Hutchison is the first U.S. senator to receive this prestigious award.

“Kay Bailey Hutchison has been long-time friend to Texas Farm Bureau

and our members. For the past 18 years, she has

been a leader in Washington to whom every Texan could turn,” said TFB

President Kenneth Dierschke. “We are delighted to honor her with the

Distinguished Service Award.”

The TFB Friends of Agriculture Fund (AGFUND), Inc., first endorsed

Hutchison in her candidacy for state treasurer

in 1990. In 1993, she won a special election for U.S. Senate—a post she

has held until announcing her retirement this year. During her years of

political service, Hutchison worked to preserve Texas’ natural

resources, financial health and educational future.

“Sen. Hutchison has delivered results for Texas and for Texans,” Dierschke said. “She did things, not for publicity,

but for the benefit of the entire Lone Star State.”

Hutchison worked alongside TFB members and leaders to protect the rights of all Texans. She regularly attended the

organization’s annual meetings and often made presentations to members at various forums.

“Throughout her nearly two decades in the Senate, Sen. Hutchison has

attended more Farm Bureau annual meetings than

she has missed. She has become a regular at our meetings, and we will

miss her,” Dierschke said. “As she prepares to retire from political

service, this award recognizes and expresses our gratitude for her years

of friendship and assistance.”

TFB’s Distinguished Service Award is presented to individuals who demonstrate significant contributions to both

Texas agriculture and to the Farm Bureau cause. Recipients are chosen through a unanimous vote of the TFB board of directors.


the course of TFB’s 78-year history, only 28 individuals have been

recognized with the Distinguished Service

Award—formerly called the Meritorious Service Award. Past winners

include current American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) President and

past TFB President Bob Stallman, as well as several other past TFB

presidents, a Texas governor and state senators.