The Record Newspapers- the County Record and The Penny Record, and TheRecordLive.Com, are proud to announce our 2011 All-Orange County Football Team. The winning players were selected based on individual and team performance during the 2011 football season.

The All-Orange County Football Team is the real deal. Key references for the All-Orange County Football Team were the coaches all-district football teams, input from The Record sports columnists, sideline photographers and former coaches. We would gladly put this team on the field against any combination of high school football players in Texas.

West Orange-Stark running back Britton Lyndsey has been named All-Orange County Most Valuable Player. Lyndsey’s performance in his senior year made him the obvious choice for MVP. Often hampered by injury he powered the Mustang offensive as they rolled all the way to the regional finals in the state playoffs. Like a cannon ball in the Mustang arsenal Lyndsey churned out 1,724 yards rushing and 21 touchdowns. With Lyndsey as a threat on the ground he opened the field for quarterback Jimmy Salter and a dynamic passing game with stellar receivers.

The Record’s All-Orange County Offensive MVP goes to Bridge City senior quarterback Matt Menard. Menard was double trouble for defences either in the air or tucking the ball and running over defenders on his way to the goal line. He passed for 1,270 yards and 15 touchdowns while rushing for 1,022 yards and 10 TD’s. The Cardinals finished their season in the first round of the playoffs against No. 3 ranked Coldspring. With Menard sidelined by a second quarter injury, the Trojans barely escaped Bridge City with a 7-0 victory. Three weeks later Coldspring would knock West Orange-Stark out of the playoffs as well.

All-Orange County Defensive MVP has been awarded to West Orange-Stark linebacker Daniel Woodson. In the tradition of the Mustang ‘Chain Gang’ Defense, Woodson terrorized ball carriers with 125 tackles and innumerable assists. He was a force to be reckoned with and the success of the Mustangs this season can largely be attributed to him.

All-Orange County MVP Utility Player of the Year goes to Bridge City Cardinal senior Cameron Dishon. Dishon seldom got a break as wide receiver on offense, corner back on defense and sometimes stepped into the quarterback position for Big Red. He also was a kick off and punt returner. As wide receiver, Dishon brought in 26 receptions for 569 yards and eight touchdowns. Additionally, he rushed for 221 yards and three TD’s. In the Bridge City secondary, Dishon had three interceptions for 147 yards, 40 tackles, 21 assists and 1 sack.

All-Orange County Newcomer of the Year honors Little Cypress-Mauriceville Bear sophomore kicker Trent Manuel. Although the Bears struggled in Dist. 20-4A, the young kicker posted 5-for-7 on field goals and booted 20 PAT’s. Nearly flawless, Manuel will be back in the Bear lineup for two more seasons with experience and skills no good football team can be without.
The Record’s All-Orange County football team is made up of players from all of Orange County. We are proud to announce this season’s winners:

All-Orange County Most Valuable Player
Britton Lyndsey, West Orange-Stark Mustangs

All-Orange County Offensive Most Valuable Player
Matt Menard, Bridge City Cardinals

All-Orange County Defensive Most Valuable Player
Daniel Woodson, West Orange-Stark Mustangs

All-Orange County Utility Player of the Year
Cameron Dishon, Bridge City Cardinals

All-Orange County Newcomer of the Year
Trent Manuel, Little Cypress-Mauriceville Bears

All-Orange County Coach of the Year
Cornell Thompson, West Orange-Stark Mustangs

All-Orange County Offensive Team

Quarterback: Jimmy Salter, WOS

Ty Johnson, Orangefield
Hunter Clark, BC
Alex Sezer, LCM
Abear Simien, WOS

Wide Receivers:
Derrick Ledet, WOS
Jordan Harmon, LCM
Tyler Wright, LCM
Larry Sonnier, WOS

Tight End- Mason Sonnier- Orangefield

Center- Sterling Deslatte- Orangefield

Offensive Linemen:
Jake Best, Orangefield
Ryan Lebouef, Orangefield
Jerquis Beasley, WOS
Bryson Banks, BC
Cameron Coulter, BC
Grant Kimbrough, LCM

Kicker: Jerquis Beasley, WOS
Kick Returner: Da’Carlos Renfro, WOS

All-Orange County Defensive Team

Defensive Linemen:
Ian Jenkins, WOS
Lawrence Gilmore, WOS
Cameron Coulter, BC
Hayden Reed, LCM

Zach Cole, BC
Joe Lynch, WOS
Colin Janice, WOS
Montana Quirante, Vidor

Da’Carlos Renfro, WOS
Tanner Cervanka, BC
Tyler Roberts, BC
Eric Truncale, Orangefield
Quinton Tezeno, WOS
Mitchell Hubbard, BC

Punter: J’ Marcus Rhodes, WOS
Punt Returner: Quinton Tezeno, WOS