The South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) hosted its Annual Dinner Meeting Wednesday, Jan. 18, at the MCM Elegante’ Hotel in Beaumont. Over 500 elected officials, community and business leaders, volunteers and local citizens attended the event. The primary purpose of this 40th Annual meeting was the installation of the 2012 SETRPC Officers. The slate of officers includes:

President Commissioner Ken Pelt – Hardin County
1stVice-President Commissioner David Dubose – OrangeCounty
2ndVice-President Mayor Glenn Johnson, City of Port Neches
3rdVice-President Mayor Fred Williams, City of Kountze
Treasurer Mayor Kirk Roccaforte, City of Bridge City
Secretary Commissioner Eddie Arnold, Jefferson County
Legal Counsel Ray M. Moore, Moore Landrey, LLP
The evening culminated with the presentation of the Don Kelly “South East Texan of the Year” Award and the Frances K. Monk “Regional Leadership Award.”This Award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the growth, cooperative spirit and prosperity of the region. Mr. Don Kelly, former Executive Director of SETRPC for 30 years before his retirement in 2000, presented the award.
Dr. Betty Iles, Lumbertonwas the recipient of this prestigious award. Dr. Iles was honored for her work on behalf of Southeast Texas. Dr. Iles is a longtime educator and has served in many capacities including teacher, principal, school board member, professor, artist and volunteer.Other nominees for the award included: Mr. Kim McMurray, Entergy – Team City Texas.
The Frances K. Monk “Regional Leadership”Award was presented to an elected official who exemplifies regional leadership in South East Texas. This Award was named in honor of Mayor Monk, former Mayor Port Neches, a past-president of SETRPC and an active supporter of regionalism not only locally, but also statewide and nationally.

Elaine Allums, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Kountze was the recipient of this prestigious award. Mayor Pro Tem Allums was recognized for her work on behalf of South East Texans and her promotion of regionalism.Other nominees included Dr. Alan B. Coleman, Councilman, City of Beaumont.

About No Author