A new slate of officers was elected for 2012 by the Board of Directors at the annual meeting of the Sabine River Authority of Texas (SRA) recently held in Orange, Texas. Earl Williams of Orange was elected as Board President. Other elected officers include Vice President David Koonce of Center, Secretary/Treasurer Cliff Todd of Carthage and Secretary Pro Tem Mac Abney of Marshall. Other members of the SRA Board include Past President Don Covington of Orange, Stan Mathews of Pinehurst, Connie Wade of Longview, J. D. Jacobs Jr. of Rockwall, and Connie Ware of Marshall.

President Williams is CEO of Tool Tech Machining in Beaumont, Texas, partner of Cypress Bayou Industrial Painting and President of Cypress Bayou, Inc. in Orange, Texas. He received a Bachelor of Science degree from Howard Payne University, a Master’s degree from Stephen F. Austin State University and completed post graduate work at Texas A&M University. Mr. Williams was appointed to SRA’s Board of Directors by Governor Rick Perry in 2001. He previously served on SRA’s Board from 1994 to 1999. Mr. Williams and his wife, Suzanne, have two children and live in the Orange area.

The Sabine River Authority of Texas is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor of Texas. The Board is responsible for overseeing the development of water resources in the Sabine River Basin. Members of the Board are required to reside within a county situated wholly or partially within the watershed of the Sabine River. They are leaders in their communities dedicated to serve as active participants in the water issues being addressed by the Sabin River Authority of Texas.

Created by the Legislature in 1949, the Sabine River Authority is an official agency of the State of Texas. The Authority was created as a conservation and reclamation district with responsibilities to control, store, preserve, and distribute the waters of the Sabine River and its tributary streams for useful purposes.