Three Little Cypress-Mauriceville teams competed in the District Team Debate UIL Competition on Sat. Feb. 11, with the team of Kara Stanford and Ethan Parsons and the team of Alicia Hubbard and Aaron McCoy tying for first place. Because UIL requires a first and second, Alicia Hubbard and Aaron McCoy were designated as first and Kara Stanford and Ethan Parsons as second, even though they both tied for first and had the same record.

LCM High School also earned the District Sweepstakes for the 4A District Team Debate competition. For the last four years, LCM has qualified for the UIL State Policy (team) Debate tournament, and for the last three years LCM has earned the district sweepstakes trophy for team debate and both teams from the 20-4A District progressing to the state tournament came from LCM.

According to Don Vercher, UIL Debate Coach, “I am very proud of these students. Ethan is a novice this year and has worked hard for this accomplishment. Kara has now qualified for State three years in a row, and is set to be the first debater I am aware of to be able to qualify for state all four of her high school years, if she qualifies next year. They have all worked hard to make this happen.”