With a March 5 deadline, races are beginning to take shape for the May 12 election.


Former City Councilman Jimmy Sims has filed to run for mayor. Current Mayor William Brown Claybar has reached his term limit. Thus far, Sims is running unopposed.

Place 1 incumbent Councilwoman Theresa Beauchamp has filed and is also running unopposed.

Likewise, incumbent Charles Guillory is running unopposed for Place 6 at-large. Place 3 Councilman Jeff Holland submitted his letter of resignation to the council last week and will not be running again, leaving his seat open.

The council opted to fill the position with whoever wins the May 12 election.


Pinehurst has the busiest election cycle so far with challenges to the incumbent mayor and two council seats being left vacant.

Mayor T.W. Permenter will face Pete Runnels who is former mayor of Pinehurst, city administrator and county judge.

Incumbent Councilman Bob Williams announced he is not running for reelection and incumbent Councilman John Zerko also has not announced his intentions to run again.

Those filing for the council positions are David Ball, Billy Harris, Terry C. Jacobs III, Mathew Chandler and Ron Cowling Sr.

West Orange

Incumbent at-large council members Shirley Bonnin, Mike Shugart and Dale Dardeau have filed for reelection and are running unopposed.

Bridge City

Incumbent office holders, likewise, are also running unopposed in the city.

Mayor Kirk Roccaforte, Place 2 Councilman Mike Reed, Place Councilman Eric Andrus, and Place 6 Councilwoman Lucy Field have filed to run again.

West Orange-Cove CISD

No filings have been made, including incumbents Pete Amy and Eric Mitchell, for the May 12 election.

Bridge City ISD

Place 2 incumbent Trustee Kirk Ellender has filed to run as well as Place 1 incumbent Trustee Lon Hubbard.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

Thus far, seats held by Position 2 Trustee David Jones, Position 4 Trustee Keith Adams and Position 5 Trustee Don Anderson incumbents are running unopposed since no yet has filed.

Orange County Drainage District

Two seats are up for grabs: Precinct 2 incumbent Trustee J.B. Arrington has refiled. Incumbent Precinct 4 Trustee Jimmie Sims still has not filed. No other candidates have filed.

Orange County Navigation and Port

Incumbents Barbara Winfree and Jimmy Smith are both running unopposed at the present time.

Orange County Water Control & Improvement District #2

Both Linda Premeaux and Kenneth Pigg have filed for re-election for their seats. No others have filed.