Pictured are some of the members of the 2010-2011 West Orange – Stark Yearbook and Newspaper staff with their ILPC awards. They are Shymkia Turner, Kylie Hughes, Alayna Jacobs, LaKendrick Sonnier and Casey Chapman.

West Orange – Stark High School Journalism students have earned 11 press awards from the UIL’s Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC). The awards recognize achievement in yearbook and newspaper publications.

Members of the 2010-2011 Mustang Memories yearbook staff earned the following individual honors which were recently announced:

Shymkia Turner – Third place, yearbook class section spread

Kylie Hughes – Honorable Mention, yearbook club/organization photo

Lakendrick Sonnier – Honorable Mention, yearbook academic photo

Alayna Jacobs – Honorable Mention, yearbook sports action photo; Third place, yearbook general interest spread; Second place, yearbook caption

Jordan Darnall – Second place, yearbook portrait photo

Brittany Hagan – Third place, yearbook advertisement spread

The yearbook staff also placed second in Theme Selection and Development, as well as earning the ILPC Award of Distinguished Merit.

Additionally, the 2010-2011 West Orange – Stark High School newspaper was also awarded the ILPC Award of Achievement. In individual competition, Casey Chapman placed third in sports page design.

An addition to those individuals listed above, 2010-2011 WO-S High School yearbook and newspaper staff members include Karli Flurry, Alex Jenkins, Ashabiki Mayfield, Danielle Drouillard, Autumn Jones, Johnathan Brown, Latoya Zetar, Demaron Judge, Donisha Mosby, and Jessica Oathoudt.

Meri Elen Jacobs is the WO-S High School yearbook and newspaper sponsor.