Lamar State College-Orange’s Speech and Debate Team spent the weekend of Sept. 22 in Bolivar, Mo., competing at the First Annual Dr. Bob Derryberry Memorial Speech and Debate Tournament at Southwest Baptist University.

Competitors hailed from 16 different colleges from seven states, for a total of 120 competitors. The LSC-O team proudly brought 15 trophies back home with them to Orange.

Zech Turk made it to finals in all six of his individual events and placed first as the Top Individual Pentathlon Speaker out of 120 competing students. Rebecca Phillips took fifth place in the overall, as well.

LSC-O placed first in the Individual Event Sweepstakes and was awarded first place Top Pi Kappa Delta School. In addition to his first place Top Individual Pentathlon Speaker award, Turk placed first in Prose Competition; second place in Communication Analysis; second place in Informative Speaking; fifth place in Impromptu Speaking; fifth place in Dramatic Interpretation, and sixth place in Program Interpretation.

Rebecca Phillips also placed first in Communication Analysis; fourth place in Informative Speaking, and was awarded Top Novice in Communication Analysis and Top Novice in Informative. Austin Lachausse placed sixth overall in Dramatic Interpretation.

Competing in the tournament served dual purposes for the team and their director, Kevin Doss. Dr. Derryberry, the namesake of the tournament, was Doss’ college debate coach who passed away from cancer two years ago. “I would not be the forensic educator I am today without the training from this wonderful professor,” said Doss.

Secondly, he says the LSC-O team needed to be “seen and exposed” to the Missouri judging pool, as they will be competing at the 100th Anniversary of Pi Kappa Delta at Webster University in St. Louis over Spring Break.

“Those same judges will be judging at the National Tournament in St. Louis,” said Doss. “I am very pleased with our efforts this past weekend and want to thank everyone for their continued support of the Speech and Debate Team.”

From left;  Zech Turk, Rebecca Phillips and Austin Lachausse pose with their new first place trophies.