Early voting began Monday for the cities of Orange, West Orange and Bridge City general elections scheduled for May 11.

For Orange, seeking the council seat for District 2 is incumbent Cullen Smith and Tommy Ferguson. Vying for District 4 are incumbent Annette Pernell and Mary McKenna.

Bill Mello runs unopposed for an at-large seat.

Early voting is being held 8:30 a.m. -4:30 p.m. at the Orange Public Library, 220 N. Fifth St. through May 6 and extended hours of 8 a.m.-8 p.m. May 7.

May 11, the District 2 polling place is Little Cypress Intermediate School, 2300 Allie Payne Road.

Voters in District 4 will cast ballots at WOS Middle School, 1402 W. Green Avenue.

Applications for ballots by mail must be received no later than the close of business May 3.

Tina Barrow, Administrator

Orange County Elections Administration

123 S. Sixth St.

Orange, Texas 77630


In West Orange, Mayor Roy McDonald is unopposed.

Wayne Wiggins is running against incumbents Mike Trahan and Charles Winter for two at-large council seats.

Early voting for the City of West Orange is 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. weekdays through Tuesday, May 7, at West Orange City Hall, 2700 Western Ave. Monday May 6, extended hours are 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

In Bridge City, three city council members will be elected for places 1, 3 and 5.

For City Council, Place 1, Lucy Fields, a 62 year old retiree challenges incumbent Kevin Mott who is a 42 year old manager.

Place 3 pits incumbent Robert L. Simonton Jr., 50, who is an electrician, against self-employed 53-year-old Steve Quibodeaux.

Place 5 incumbent Richard Savoy, 48, runs unopposed.

Bridge City voters can vote weekdays through May 7, at the Bridge City Independent School District administration building located at 1031 W. Roundbunch. Polling times are 8 a.m. To 4 p.m., through Friday. Next week, votes can be cast 7 a.m. To 7 p.m. Monday and Tuesday.

The pole opens at 7 a.m. Saturday, May 11, at the BCISD administration building. Votes can be cast until 7 p.m.

The last day to receive an application from a voter by mail for a ballot to be voted by mail is no later than the close of business on Friday, May 3, 2013.

Applications for a ballot by mail should be mailed to:

Sherry Tisdale, Early Voting Clerk

P. O. Box 846

260 Rachal

Bridge City, Texas 77611

WOCCISD School Board

Three seats are up for election, all at-large positions for 3-year terms.

These seats are currently held by Harry Barclay, Hardy O’Neal, and Ricky Jacobs; all three are seeking reelection.

Mary Ann Kirksey and Bryan “Chop” Thomas Muhammad have also filed for the positions.

Early voting is currently being held at the Orange Public Library. The election is May 11.

LCMCISD School Board & Bond

Place 7 on the Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD School Board is currently up for election. Jason Woods (incumbent) and Blake Istre, are running for Place 7.

The LCMCISD Board of Trustees will also hold a bond election for $56 million.

The bond proceeds will be used on all campuses, most of which were built 30 to 60 years ago and do not meet today’s standard expectations for security, energy conservation, technology, instructional arrangements, and compliance measures.

Top priority will be to improve safety and security of facilities by constructing a secure main entrance at all campuses, connecting buildings together, and eliminating exterior walkways between classes. Additionally, some instructional and common areas that are no longer adequate will be updated.

Call Superintendent Pauline Hargrove or Assistant Superintendent Greg Perry at 883-2232 if you have any questions concerning the bond program.

Early voting is currently being held for registered voters who live in the district at: LCM Education Center, Orange Public Library, Mauriceville Fire Department, LC Junior High, LC Intermediate, LCM High School, LC Elementary, Mauriceville Middle School, and Mauriceville Elementary. On election day, precincts 3,6, 7, 8 and 9 can vote at LC Intermediate School and precincts 5, 16, 31 and 32 can vote at Mauriceville Middle School.