The Orange County Unite for the Texas Retired Teachers Association installed new officers for the 2013-2014 fiscal year on May 14, their last meeting of the fiscal year. Officers are: President – Harvey Wilson; First Vice President – Kay Kline; Second Vice-President – Miekle Hoffman; Secretary – Doris Wilson; and Linda Renfro – Treasurer.

Nancy Hooker, District TRTA Secretary, administered the oath of office and Carolyn Williams, outgoing President, passed the gavel to Harvey Wilson to complete the ceremony.

Founded in 1953 the Texas Retired Teachers Association (TRTA) is the largest association for retired public school and higher education employees and now ranks number one in membership in the nation. TRTA has more than 73,000 members who continue to be involved in local public school education and in the well-being of their communities. Orange County has over 180 members. Our retired teachers are very active volunteers in such places as the Orangefield Cormier Museum, Christmas bell ringers for the Salvation Army, Stark Museum, Shangri La Botanical Gardens, School projects such as Building Great Readers at WOSE, local church group projects such as the First Presbyterian Soup Kitchen and Orange Christian Services, plus many other volunteer opportunities.

Currently our Orange County unit in conjunction with the State TRTA is working with the State Congress to assure the Teacher Retirement System Funding Level remains sound for today’s retirees and for all active teachers that retire for generations to come.

If you are a retired public school employee, you are invited to become an active member of the Orange County Retired Teachers Association and the TRTA.  If you are a person who is interested in educational issues, such as a friend or a spouse of a member, you may join as an associate member. For more information contact Harvey Wilson at 886-4804.

The Local Unit meets at 11 a.m. every second Monday of the Month at the Wesley United Methodist Church, located at 401 N. 37th Street, Orange, Texas. Their next meeting is scheduled for Monday, Sept. 9.

Pictured from left to right: Linda Renfro ,Treasurer; Kay Kline, First-Vice President; Carolyn Williams, Outgoing President; Harvey Wilson, Incoming President; Doris Wilson, Secretary; and Miekle Hoffman, Second Vice- President.