A new slate of officers was elected for 2014 by the Board of Directors at the annual meeting of the Sabine River Authority of Texas (SRA) recently held in Marshall.
Cliff Todd of Carthage was elected as Board President. Other elected officers include Vice President Mac Abney of Marshall, Secretary/Treasurer Connie Ware of Marshall and Secretary Pro-Tem J. D. Jacobs of Rockwall. Other members of the SRA Board include Past President David Koonce of Center, Earl Williams of Orange, Stan Mathews of Pinehurst, Connie Wade of Longview and Sharon Newcomer of Mauriceville.

President Todd currently works for C and J Energy Services. Previously he was the executive director for Marshall Economic Development Corporation. He took that position after retiring from the Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA), serving nearly 30 years first in Austin and later with the TDA Rural Economic Division for the entire East Texas region.   Mr. Todd is a past member of the Austin and Carthage Rotary clubs and a past president of the Carthage Rotary Club. He is involved in overseeing the management of his family owned farm and ranch in Panola and Rusk Counties.   Mr. Todd has served as a longtime adult and college Sunday school teacher for over 25 years and currently serves as a deacon for Central Baptist Church. He enjoys being a pilot and spending time outdoors on weekends on their farm. His wife, Denise, is a retired kindergarten teacher. Earlier in 2013, their daughter and son-in-law, Sara and Jonathan Roth, blessed them with a granddaughter. Mr. Todd received a bachelor’s degree from Stephen F. Austin State University.

The Sabine River Authority of Texas is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor of Texas.  The Board is responsible for overseeing the development of water resources in the Sabine River Basin.  Members of the Board are required to reside within a county situated wholly or partially within the watershed of the Sabine River.  They are leaders in their communities dedicated to serve as active participants in the water issues being addressed by the Sabin River Authority of Texas.

Created by the Legislature in 1949, the Sabine River Authority is an official agency of the State of Texas.  The Authority was created as a conservation and reclamation district with responsibilities to control, store, preserve, and distribute the waters of the Sabine River and its tributary streams for useful purposes.

Pictured are SRA Board Officers for 2014 – seated: Cliff Todd, President; standing from left: J. D. Jacobs, Secretary Pro-Tem; Connie Ware, Secretary/Treasurer, and Mac Abney, Vice President.