Little Cypress-Mauriceville named the elementary and secondary teachers of the year during the district’s annual end of year recognition and celebration event.

Summer Diamond, fifth grade teacher at Little Cypress Intermediate, was chosen as the Elementary Teacher of the Year; and Brook Deets, math teacher at Mauriceville Middle School, was named the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The LCM representatives were chosen from an anonymous panel of judges not affiliated with the LCM District. Campus teachers of the year include Crystal Guidry, Mauriceville Elementary; Iva Peasley, Little Cypress Elementary; Jose Ochoa, Little Cypress Junior High, and Babs Foster, Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School.

Deets and Diamond will now compete for the Region 5 Education Service Center Teacher of the Year with others from throughout the Region 5 service area.


Pictured are, Assistant Superintendent Greg Perry, and Superintendent Dr. Pauline Hargrove, with teachers of the year. They are, from left, Perry, Summer Diamond, Brooke Deets, and Hargrove.