Lamar Institute of Technology will graduate almost 250 at its Fall commencement ceremony on Dec. 12, 2014. The event will begin at 7 p.m. at the Montagne Center.

Speaker for the ceremony will be Rep. Dade Phelan. Rep. Phelan is a senior partner and broker at Phelan Investments, a family-owned real estate development company.

Phelan gained legislative experience serving on staff for State Representative Mark Stiles, State Senator Tommy Williams and U.S. House Majority Leader Dick Armey. He was elected to the Texas House of Representatives for District 21 in November 2014.

He is a two-time Governor Perry appointee to the Lower Neches Valley Authority and was its 2013 president. He is also past board secretary to Catholic Charities of Southeast Texas, former board member to Southeast CASA, Golden Triangle CCA, St. Anne Church and The Jefferson Theatre.

He and his wife, Kim, live in Jefferson County with their three children.

Local candidates to receive Associate of Applied Science degrees are:

Bridge City: Keshia LeeAnn Tomplait, computer drafting technology; Kay Nelda Williams, criminal justice security, threat groups and homeland security; Sasha Renee Francis, diagnostic cardiac sonography; Robert Tyler Landrum, instrumentation technology and Michael Cody Fisette, industrial mechanics.

Orange: Michael Rayn Rutherford, Dylan W. Simpson, computer drafting technology; Aaron Daniel Best, computer information systems; Donovon Ryan Crochett, heating, ventilation and air conditioning; Ernest Warren Beadle, Adam Thomas Ridley, Edmon William Willette, instrumentation technology and Krislie Lindsey Acord, process operating technology.

Vidor: Charla E. Alldredge, Evy Kathleen Benson, Kara Michelle Warren, accounting technology; Lauren Elizabeth Mansfield, child care and development; Ricky Wayne Geiger, Sheldon Emory Jenkins, computer networking and troubleshooting technology; Jonathan W. Tynes, heating, ventilation and air conditioning; Greg Matthew Hutchinson, industrial mechanics; David Lee Burrahm, Rory N. Lebeouf, Robert Joseph Reed, instrumentation technology and Joshua Ryan Dean, Jose Demetrius Mojica, Keri Lyn Opie, Cody Shane Teems and Jonathon Blake Tinkle, process operating technology.

Vinton: Chelsi Denay Clark, diagnostic medical sonography.

Candidates to receive certificates of completion are:

Bridge City: Hunter Leland Gothia, instrumentation technology and Joshua L. Simon, regional fire academy.

Mauriceville: Logan Thomas Holland, regional police academy.

Orange: Jalanta Cuyler Allen, computer support technology; Tyler David Roberts, regional fire academy; Ethan Wayne Cowart, Joshua O’Niell Lemoine, Leslie Adam Lovelace, Travis Raymond Seals, Seth Elton Wofford, regional police academy and Aaron Daniel Best, web development.

Vidor: Cierra Ann Powell, emergency medical technology.