During the recognition portion of the Little Cypress-Mauriceville Board of Trustees meeting, the Board recognized the Volley Team for their outstanding accomplishments – as a team and individually. The team took the District Championship, with a 38-5 record overall and 12-0 in district. They had a 23 match winning streak without losing a game and a 26 match winning streak. They took Second at the Huffman and Dickinson Tournaments and were Silver division

YMBL Tournament Champions.

Their individual accomplishments include Sarah Woods, All-District MVP, Texas Girls Coaches Association All-State and was named to the All-Star team which will play in Austin on July 16. Sarah is the first LCM girl to ever play in the All-Star game.

Melanie Hamerly was an All-District alternate, Orange Leader MVP, Beaumont Enterprise Super Gold Team MVP, Texas Sports Writers Third Team, Volleyball academic All-State, YMBL Tournament MVP, and All Tournament at the Dickinson Tournament.

Jade Pipe is the All-District outstanding setter, Orange Leader Top Setter, Beaumont Enterprise Super Gold Honorable Mention, Texas Sports Writers Association Second Team, Volleyball Academic All-State, and YMBL All-Tournament.

Malayzia Winbush is All-District Outstanding Middle, Orange Leader Top Blocker, Beaumont Enterprise Super Gold Second Team, Texas Sports Writers Honorable Mention, and YMBL All-Tournament.

Darby Strother earned All-District First Team and Orange Leader First Team. Marissa Powell was named All-District Second Team and Orange Leader Second Team. Bailey Brittain won All-District Honorable Mention, Kender Myers a Volleyball Academic All-State spot, and Bailee Burnett was named Volleyball Academic All-State.

Makenzie Hearn received All-District Honorable Mention, Orange Leader First Team, and YMBL All-Tournament while Maddie Frey won All-District Honorable Mention and Orange Leader First Team.

Coach Vicki Castino has been busy collecting accolades this year, though she prefers to focus on the girls’ achievements. She was named 24-4A Coach of the Year, Orange Leader Coach of the Year, Beaumont Enterprise Super Gold Team Coach of the Year, and Southeast Texas Coaches Association Coach of the year. She will also coach the Southeast Texas All-stars on June 12 and the Texas Girl’s coaches Association All-Stars in Austin on July 16.

Pictured is the LCM All District volleyball team.