This weekend, 24 Little Cypress Junior High Choir members attended the Texas Music Educators Association annual Solo and Ensemble contest at Vidor Junior High School.

Students prepare and memorize a solo to sing for a single judge who gives them a written comment sheet and a rating. Superior ratings (1st division) also receive a medal that is color coded according to the difficulty of the piece.

LCJH had 21 students earn Superior, 1st division ratings and three students received Excellent ratings. For four of the 21, this is the second year to achieve a Superior.

Those receiving Superiors include Rachel Belcher, Aidan Croaker, McKenzie Guillory, Haley Votava, Brianna Frenzel, Molly Gericke, Ashten Higginbotham, Reyanna Muse, Maggie Pigg, Julian Purgahn and Grace Walters, all eighth graders.

Superior ratings were also awarded to seventh graders Melanie Cupp, Gianna Gardner, Patti Ibarra, Declan Kendall, Lauren LaCour, AuBree LeJeune, Kayla Lingo, Sydney Peet, Hunter Perkins and Shelby Smith.

The three students who received Excellent ratings for their performance are seventh graders McKenzi Hillin and Zachary Sims and eighth grader Connor Reno.

Stephanie Teague is choral director and Michelle Belcher is the accompanist.