Alamo firearms of the Texas Frontier exhibit extended
Today Texas General Land Office Commissioner George P. Bush announced the wildly popular Firearms of the Texas Frontier exhibit has been extended through May 31. Visitors have the opportunity to view firearms that helped settle the Texas frontier. This exciting exhibit contains historic firearms and artifacts on loan from the National Rifle Association and gracious Texas philanthropists such as Alamo Endowment Board member Red McCombs.
In 1836, single-shot flintlock muskets, rifles, and pistols served as the primary firearms in the Battle of the Alamo. Just forty years later in 1876, Texans carried Winchester repeating rifles and six-guns for armament. “Firearms of the Texas Frontier” tells the fascinating story of the technological evolution of the firearms industry. Historians and weapons aficionados alike appreciate the skill and artistry of the nineteenth century firearms designers who created rifles and revolvers so advanced that they are still being produced today.
In addition to the exhibit of historic firearms inside the Alamo Shrine, the Alamo staff and trained volunteers invite visitors to visit a hands-on exhibit of replicas of the historic firearms. This hands-on experience is offered on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays and is located in Convento Courtyard on the north side of the Alamo Shrine in good weather, and inside the Alamo Shrine in inclement weather. The interactive exhibit offers visitors the opportunity to discuss the history of the firearms as well as to see them up close. It is a way for families to learn Texas history in an interesting and entertaining way.
Admission to the axhibit is free to the public. The Alamo is located at 300 Alamo Plaza in San Antonio.