The staff of the Little Cypress-Mauriceville High School online newspaper, The Bear Facts, has been awarded the honor of being an SNO (Student Newspapers Online) Distinguished Site for 2015. The staff met all six standards given by the Distinguished Sites Recognition Program and earned badges in the following categories: Excellence in Writing, Continuous Coverage, Site Excellence, Story Page Excellence, Multimedia and Audience Engagement.

Two stories written by senior Morgan Collier and one story written by junior Sydney Pierce were chosen to be published on Best of SNO, a site devoted to excellence in student journalism. The website,, offers school and community news, sports updates and schedules, photos, videos and breaking news.

The award-winning staff is made up of the following students: Morgan Collier (Editor), Wendy Cates (Copy Editor), Jacob Powers (Video Editor), Sydney Pierce, Chelsea Dickert, Valen Elliott, JoLynn Homin, Ethan Martin and Jeffrey Holland. The staff is led by LCM High School Journalism teacher Lindsey Fruge.

Front row (left to right): Jacob Powers, Valen Elliott, Sydney Pierce, Ethan Martin, Morgan Collier, Jeffrey Holland
Back row (left to right): JoLynn Homin, Wendy Cates, Chelsea Dickert, Lindsey Fruge