It comes as no surprise that Lamar University junior running back Kade Harrington has been named 2015 STATS FCS First-Team All-America following a season that saw him lead the nation in rushing. Harrington is one of three finalists for the STATS FCS National Offensive Player of the Year Award (formerly known as the Walter Payton Award) – FCS football’s version of the Heisman Trophy. Harrington becomes the first LU player to receive first-team All-America honors since the program’s return to Beaumont.

Harrington closed out a record-setting campaign by becoming just the seventh back in NCAA Division I history to rush for 2,000 yards in only 10 games – joining a list that includes Marcus Allen and Barry Sanders. A two-time STATS FCS National Offensive Player of the Week selection, Harrington led the nation in total yards (2,092), rush yards per game (190.2 ypg), rushing touchdowns (21) and all-purpose yards (213.36 ypg) during the regular season. He also finished ranked among the nation’s top three in scoring (12.5 ppg) and yards per carry (7.86 ypc). During Southland Conference play, Harrington averaged better than 220 yards per game.
Along the way, Harrington set Southland Conference records for rush yards in a game, yards in a season, yards per game and points per game. He also set LU single-game and season records for all-purpose yards, and a single-season record for rushing touchdowns, on his way to becoming the school’s all-time leading rusher in just under three seasons.

In addition to his long list of records set, Harrington also became the first player in school history to rush for at least 100 yards in eight consecutive games. In six of those games he rushed for at least 200 yards, including a school-record 347 against Abilene Christian. For his efforts on the field, he became the first Cardinal to be named Southland Conference Player of the Year.

Harrington is one of only three Southland Conference players named to the STATS FCS first-team. He will look to become just the second player in Southland history to win the STATS FCS National Offensive Player of the Year award at the awards banquet next month in Frisco.