Jack Dallas, West Orange-Stark quarterback, was named the Record Newspaper’s Most Valuable Player for 2015. 

Mark Dunn – For The Record

The Record Newspapers are proud to announce the 2015 All-Orange County Football Team. The team combines players selected from all Orange County’s football teams and is likely the best collection of football players in Texas. The team includes football players from three Orange County playoff teams and is highlighted by state champions the West Orange Stark Mustangs.

The state championship game was a return trip for the WOS Mustangs who finished runner-up in the 2014. They ‘finished it’ this season with a 22-3 victory over Celina to win the 2015 Class 4A Division 2 state football championship. Mustang quarterback Jack Dallas was named Offensive MVP of the state championship game. His defensive counterpart, WOS linebacker Steven Tims, was named state championship Defensive MVP.

Dallas leads the 2015 All-Orange County Football team as Most Valuable Player. The West Orange Stark junior quarterback finished the season with 209 completions for 3113 yards. Dallas scored two touchdowns in the state championship game while the famed Mustang Chain Gang defense held Celina to just a first quarter field goal.

A key member of that famed defense is named 2015 All Orange County Defensive MVP Mandel Turner-King.

All-Orange County Offensive MVP goes to WOS Mustang receiver Thomas Wallace. Wallace had 54 receptions for 984 yards and 17 touchdowns in 2015. The Jack Dallas and Thomas Wallace combination knocked Cuero out of the playoffs in the state semi final game with Wallace scoring four touchdowns on five receptions for 204 yards in the 41-28 victory that propelled WOS to the state championship.

All-Orange County ‘Newcomer of the Year’ also goes to a WOS Mustang, sophomore wide receiver and defensive back Demorris Thibodeaux.

It will be no surprise that WOS head football coach Cornel Thompson has been named the 2015 All-Orange County ‘Coach of the Year.’  Thompson led the Mustangs to 15 wins, a district championship and a second consecutive state finals appearance in 2015. West Orange-Stark outscored their district opponents 169-3 before rolling off postseason victories over Scarborough, Wharton, Caldwell, Bellville, Cuero and Celina in the state finals.

Filling out the 2015 All-Orange County Football Team are superlative performers from two other local post season teams. The Bridge City Cardinals posted a 7-4 season in the debut of new head football coach Dewayne DuBois. The Orangefield Bobcats finished the season 6-6 under third year head coach Josh Smalley. Also included are standout players from the Little Cypress Mauriceville Bears under head coach Randy Crouch.

The Record’s 2015 All-Orange County Football Team

• Most Valuable Player: Jack Dallas, WOS

• Offensive MVP: Thomas Wallace, WOS

• Defensive MVP: Mandel Turner-King, WOS

• Newcomer of the Year: Demorris Thibodeaux, WOS

• Coach of the Year: Cornel Thompson, WOS

First Team Offense

• Quarterback: Matthew Watkins, Orangefield

• Runninbacks: Jeremiah Shaw, WOS; Cayce Draper, Bridge City; Sam King, LCM

• Wide Receivers:  KJ Miller, WOS; Aric Cormier, WOS;

Payton Robertson, WOS

• Tight End: Cale Puckett, Orangefield

•Offensive Line: Stuart Viator, LCM; Jake Bradley, Orangefield; Morris Joseph, WOS; Tristen Scott, WOS

• Center: Ryan Ragsdale,WOS

• Kicker: Matthew Rainey, Orangefield

• Kick Returner: KJ Miller, WOS

• Punter: Tyler Brown, LCM

First Team Defense

• Linebackers: Derick Dearing, Bridge City; Bay Quebodeaux, LCM; Steve Tims, WOS; Austin Moore, Orangefield

• Defensive Line: David Souredellia, Bridge City, Brandon Bray, Orangefield; Jalen Powdrill, WOS; Te’ron Brown, WOS

• Defensive backs: : Malick Phillips, WOS; Jarron Morris, WOS; Chris Winters, LCM; Zack Dischler, Orangefield

• Punt Returner: Peyton Choate, LCM

Second Team Offense

• Quarterback: Camden Dubois, Bridge City

• Runningbacks: Colt Poole, Bridge City; J’Lon Douglas, LCM; Quinton Chargois, WOS

• Wide Receivers: Dominque Tezeno, WOS;  Rufus Joseph, WOS; Malick Phillips, WOS

• Tight Ends: Mitchell Lee, LCM, Austin Fitts, Bridge City

• Offensive Line: Joseph Adams, Bridge City; Jim Jones, LCM; Tyler Doyle, LCM; Ledarian Carter, WOS; Te’ron Brown, WOS

• Kicker: Tyler Brown, LCM

• Kick Returner: Hunter Denton, Bridge City

• Punter:  Brogan Brown, Bridge City

Second Team Defense

• Linebackers: Kade Wheat, Bridge City; Keegan Johnson, Bridge City; Triston McGee, Orangefield

• Defensive Line: Mason Gonzales, Orangefield; Kade Bland, LCM; Drake Trawhon, LCM; Kane Booth, Bridge City; Nick Menard, Bridge City

• Defensive Backs: Zack Honeycut, Bridge City;

Payton Choate, LCM; Trey Guillory, LCM; Byron Trahan, Bridge City

• Punt Returner: Colt Poole, Bridge City