The South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) will host a series of public meetings beginning Monday, April 11, providing citizens in Jefferson, Orange and Hardin Counties the opportunity to learn about and comment on the JOHRTS 2017-2020 TIP and the Revised JOHRTS MTP-2040. “This is an opportunity for the public to be directly involved in the process and have their voices heard as we make recommendations to address transportation-related issues that are affecting the southeast Texas region. Public input is an essential part of this process and we want to make sure the needs of our region are properly addressed,” says Bob Dickinson, Director of Transportation and Environmental Resources for SETRPC.     

The 30-day public comment period is being held April 4 through May 04. The public is encouraged to attend a meeting or provide written comments by 5:00 PM, May 04. Four public meetings will be held in Port Arthur, Orange, Beaumont, and Lumberton at the following locations: 

The Orange area meeting will be held Tuesday, April 12, 3:00 PM at the City of Orange Public Library, 200 5th Street, Orange and in Beaumont on Wednesday, April 13, 3:00 PM, SETRPC Office, 2210 Eastex Freeway. 

These meetings are designed to solicit the public’s ideas and input on proposed transportation improvement projects planned for the southeast Texas area. All meetings are the same and are not restricted to a specific area. The public is strongly encouraged to be an active part of this process by selecting a meeting day and time that fits their schedule. For more information or for special needs requests (48 hours), please contact Bob Dickinson at (409) 899-8444 extension 7520, or